Mrs. Mariette Carrier-Fraser

Mariette Carrier-FraserMrs. Mariette Carrier-Fraser has worked for over thirty-six years in the provincial education system, beginning her career as a primary school teacher in northern Ontario and finally serving as Assistant Deputy Minister responsible for French-language education at the Ministry of Education before taking her retirement in 1997. As Assistant Deputy Minister, she participated in the bill that led to the creation of the twelve French-language school boards in January 1998. She was also involved in the genesis of Collège Boréal in 1995.

Mrs. Carrier-Fraser has served, or continues to serve, on numerous committees and boards in several regions of the province. From 1998 to 2007, she sat on the Board of Governors of Laurentian University and, from 2003 to 2007, on the board of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine. From 2001 to 2006, she was a member of the Post-secondary Education Quality Assessment Board and served as an expert advisor to Mordechai Rozanski, chair of the Education Equality Task Force during the Government of Ontario's revisions to financing models for primary and secondary education.

Mrs. Carrier-Fraser is also very much involved in the francophone community. She served as president of the Assemblée de la francophonie de l’Ontario (AFO) from June 2006 to October 2010 and as president of the Centre canadien de leadership en évaluation (CLÉ) from 2003 to 2013.

She is also sits on many Boards of trustees such as the Canadian Foundation for Cross-Cultural Dialogue, Société Santé en français and the French Language Health Services Network of Eastern Ontario. Since 2011, she is a member of the Hôpital Montfort Board of trustees and Chair of the Francophone Working Group on Health Care Reform, which advises the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.

In 2015, she was the recipient of the Ontario Francophonie Award (Francophone category), handed by the Office of Francophone Affairs as part of celebrations commemorating 400 years of French presence in Ontario. She was named to the Order of Canada in 2017.